Chopp, DeBolt re-elected to lead state Houses

OLYMPIA (AP) — House Democrats have re-elected House Speaker Frank Chopp to lead th eir caucus, and House Republicans also kept Rep. Richard DeBolt of Chehalis as their leader.

Chopp and DeBolt were elected during caucus meetings Friday. Democrats also re-elected House Majority Leader Pat Sullivan of Covington. Rep. Erick Pettigrew of Seattle was selected as majority caucus chair, Rep. Kevin Van De Wege of Sequim was named majority whip and Rep. Tami Green of Lakewood is majority floor leader.

Rep. Joel Kretz of Wauconda was re-elected as deputy leader for House Republicans, Rep. Dan Kristiansen of Snohomish was re-elected as House Republican caucus chair, and Rep. J.T. Wilcox of Yelm was elected to serve as House Republican floor leader.

Senate Republican leadership elections will be held Nov. 28. Current minority leader, Sen. Mike Hewitt of Walla Walla, announced Friday that he wouldn’t seek another term as leader. He has held the position since 2005. Sen. Ed Murray, D-Seattle, was elected as senate majority leader last week.