Harbor Paper CEO on Inslee transition team

OLYMPIA — Harbor Paper CEO John Begley has been named as a member of Governor-Elect Jay Inslee’s transition committee and will be asked for advice as Inslee fills cabinet positions, builds a staff and crafts an agenda.

Begley oversaw the restart of the Harbor Paper mill in Hoquiam, which celebrated its grand opening last month.

The 34-member transition committee is co-chaired by Dr. Elson Floyd, president of Washington State University, Renton School District Superintendent Dr. Mary Alice Heuschel and Brad Smith, vice president at Microsoft. The members will be split ointo issue-specific workgroups coordinated by transition staff, according to a press release from Inslee.

“The team we’ve assembled represents both sides of the Cascades, our key industries and people with experience both inside and outside government,” the future Democratic governor said in a press release. “I look forward to their engagement and appreciate their willingness to serve the state.”

Begley joins the likes of former Democratic Senate majority leader Lisa Brown; Kelly Fox, the president of the Washington State Council of Firefighters; Kimberly Harris, CEO of Puget Sound Energy; Jeff Johnson, president of the state Labor Council; Mary Lindquist, the president of the Washington Education Association; Tacoma Mayor Marilyn Strickland and former Republican secretary of state Ralph Munro. There’s also Sue Taoka, executive vice president for Craft, the non-profit that helped finance the re-start of Harbor Paper.