Port election contributions carry campaign theme

The money involved in the Port of Grays Harbor commission race carries the same theme as the rest of the campaign — oil and economics versus environmentalism.

Incumbent Commissioner Chuck Caldwell has a comfortable lead in fundraising, with a total of $21,640 to challenger Ron Figlar-Barnes’ $7,831.37, according to the most recent filings with the state Public Disclosure Commission. Figlar-Barnes said he had another $20 donated since then he plans to file paperwork for Monday.

Caldwell still has $7,875.22 left in the war chest with 11 days to go before Election Day. Figlar-Barnes has $3,534.97.

The top donors for Caldwell are familiar names: Westway Terminals vice-president Robbie Johnson, Brusco Tug & Barge of Longview, Pasha Stevedoring and Paul Willis, owner of Willis Enterprises, all contributing $1,000.

Westway is one of three companies currently proposing crude oil terminals at the Port, for which Caldwell has expressed support if they make it through all the necessarily regulatory hurdles and which Figlar-Barnes has pledged to stop.

The other two companies, Imperium Renewables and U.S. Development, are also represented on Caldwell’s donor list. Imperium contributed $575. Charla Skaggs, a senior associate with EnviroIssues, a community outreach firm representing U.S. Development, contributed $200.

Figlar-Barnes’ donor list is largely composed of friends and family from around the region. The top donor is David Mascarenas of Everett with $1,400. Mascarenas is a former candidate for the Port of Everett and involved with Brady’s Oysters, Figlar-Barnes said.

Next on the list is Brady Engvall, owner of Brady’s Oysters, contributing $574.33. He’s followed by David Forbes, a Hoquiam retiree who opposes crude-by-rail, with a $500 contribution.

Additional donors from $200-$500:


International Union of Operating Engineers Local 302, Anderson & Middleton Co., Todd Charlton of Montesano, Walt Schrader of Aberdeen, Pat Tagman of Montesano, Five Star of Aberdeen, Quigg Bros. Inc., Joe Stipic of Aberdeen, Oliver Mackey of Aberdeen, Steven Poler of Montesano, Hoquiam Mayor Jack Durney, Kevin Campbell of Montesano, Douglas Fricke of Westport and Teal Building Partnership of Aberdeen.


S.W. Washington Electricians Political Action Committee, Carol J. Seaman of Aberdeen, Arnie Martin of Hoquiam and Steve Hallstrom of Oakville.

Brionna Friedrich: 360-537-3933 or bfriedrich@thedailyworld.com and @DW_Brionna on Twitter.