Senators will sponsor resolution honoring Monte champs

State Sens. Jim Hargrove, D-Hoquiam, and Brian Hatfield, D-Raymond, will sponsor a Senate resolution on Feb. 1 honoring the Montesano Bulldogs state championship football team.

The team overcame a couple of early season losses and a devastating fire that destroyed the grandstands to their home stadium and went on to win the state’s 1A championship.

In addition, they compiled a team grade point average of 3.5 to win the 1A Football Academic Championship.