Four Bobcats named to all-Evergreen soccer

Four members of Aberdeen’s Evergreen 2A Conference boys soccer champions were named to the all-league team announced this week.

Senior forward Juan Lopez received the league Offensive Most Valuable Player award. He became the first player in school history to receive two MVP awards.

Midfielder Juan Oropeza, defender Sam Ruiz and goalkeeper Andres Valdes joined Lopez on the 18-player first team.

Larry Fleming, who guided the Bobcats to the undisputed league championship, was chosen by his peers to receive the league’s Coach of the Year award.

Capital’s Daniel Pailthorpe earned league Defensive Player of the Year honors. Tumwater’s Kile Lenherr, the son of Montesano coach Jeff Lenherr, was another first-team selection.

The Evergreen Conference all-stars:

First Team

Offensive MVP: Juan Lopez, Aberdeen, Sr.

Defensive MVP: Daniel Pailthorpe, Capital, Jr.

Goalkeepers: Andres Valdes, Aberdeen, Soph.; Chris Behnke, River Ridge, Soph.

Forwards: Aidan Klemmer, Capital, Jr.; Benedikt Thurner, Capital, Sr.; Christian Corona, Centralia, Soph.; Connor Sigmon, Tumwater, Sr.

Midfielders: Juan Oropeza, Aberdeen, Sr.; Nick Boatright, Capital, Jr.; Prince Gundersen, Centralia, Sr.; Kile Lenherr, Tumwater, Sr.; Jacob Irwin, Tumwater, Jr.

Defenders: Sam Ruiz, Aberdeen, Sr.; Luke Proctor, Black Hills, Sr.; Alex Carey, Centralia, Sr.; Zach McGill, River Ridge, Sr.; Dane Brizzolara, Tumwater, Fresh.

Second Team

Forwards: Bradley Saner, Tumwater, Sr.; Justin Deel, Chehalis, Sr.

Midfielders: Derick Cutler, Black Hills, Soph; Kellen O’Neill, Capital, Jr.; Binod Sapkota, Centralia, Fresh.; Sergio Perez, Chehalis, Sr.; Aguilo Leal, Chehalis, Sr.

Defenders: Titus Phillips, Chehalis, Jr.; Jacob Pratt, Capital, Soph.; Bo Ramirez, Centralia, Sr.; Kevin Murphy, Centralia, Sr.; Ethan Williams, Tumwater, Jr.

Honorable Mention

(Aberdeen players only)

Aberdeen — Blake Liscombe, Seth Caba.