Four Choker players and coach honored by NWAACC

Four Grays Harbor College softball players and their coach were honored on the NWAACC All-Western Division softball team announced recently.

Grays Harbor’s Savannah DeMoss, Jordan Eberwein, Jill Johnson and Erica Rydman received first-team recognition.

Tom Sutera, who guided the Chokers to only their second NWAACC Tournament appearance, was chosen by his peers to receive the division’s Coach of the Year award.

Pierce’s Kimmie Courneya received the Most Valuable Player award, while Highline’s Blessed Jo Mipalar earned Pitcher of the Year honors.

Grays Harbor’s Bailey Spurgeon was a second-team selection, as was Centralia’s Elissa Mendenhall, a Montesano High School graduate.

The Western Division all-stars:

MVP — Kimmie Courneya, Pierce.

Pitcher of Year — Blessed Joy Mipalar, Highline.

First Team

Dani Babcock, Highline; Ashley Bezdiciek, Pierce; Savannah DeMoss, Grays Harbor; Cassy Duschel, Green River; Jordan Eberwein, Grays Harbor; Aguila Fox, Centralia, Hailey Givens, Centralia; Jill Johnson, Grays Harbor; Kihani Palmer-Kahananunui, Green River; Kathy Murdock, Highline; Erica Rydman, Grays Harbor; Jorden Steele, Pierce; Jennifer Sweet, Green River; Lunden Young, Pierce.

Second Team

Bailey Spurgeon, Grays Harbor; Sami Dolan, Centralia; Brooke Evans, Highline; Ashley Fraser, Highline; Clarissa Gidcumb, Highline; Rachelle Guthrie, Highline; Riley Jewett-Chan, Highline; Aryn Knutsen, Pierce; Elissa Mendenhall, Centralia; Brittany Myers, Highline; Kierston Perry, Pierce; Samantha Scott, Highline; Candice Vela, Pierce; Brianna Votax, Highline.