German trades lead with Asche, Foster before winning

ELMA — Jason Tole of Hoquiam made a successful season debut, while Joe German of the Wishkah Valley registered a second consecutive come-from-behind victory Saturday at Grays Harbor Raceway.

Last year’s track champion in what was then labeled the hobby stock division, Tole prevailed in the street stock main event on Ladies Night. German rallied in the final laps to win the modified feature.

Sammy Wright of Vancouver captured the Raceway’s first-ever Northwest Extreme Sprints race and Chad Norton of Tenino won the hornet main event.

Street stocks

Tole dominated his season debut, leading for all but two laps of the main event.

Eddie Blood of Olympia finished second, while Cory Sweatman of Cosmopolis placed third.

“I ran on the slicks and I really like running these tires,” Tole told track officials. “I used a new setup I really was wanting to try. My car really handled well in the feature. I felt I was on I-5.”


For the second consecutive week, German charged past other drivers in the late going.

Kris Asche of Shelton set the pace for much of the main event, but was overtaken on the 22nd lap by Jeff Foster of McCleary.

Foster remained in front until a late-race restart. German then moved past him and held on to take the checkered flag.

“I had to work from the back due to the IMCA format,” German told track officials. “I was running those guys in the front down, but that last caution really helped me out.”

Foster placed second and Tom Sweatman of Cosmopolis third.

Extreme Sprints

Wright led all the way to earn his first career victory at the Raceway. This was the first of eight scheduled Elma appearances by Extreme Sprint racers.

Kady Adelman of Salem, Ore., took second, while Cory Samuelson of Lake Stevens wound up third. Only four cars entered.


The defending champion in this classification, Norton also registered a wire-to-wire triumph.

Jeff Warner wound up second, with Aberdeen’s William Wright taking third.

The Cut-Rate Iron Man 100 will highlight next Saturday’s program at the Raceway. A 100-lap street stock race is scheduled, with $650 awarded to the winner.

Racing is also planned in the 360 sprint car, modifieds and hornets. The program begins at 6:30 p.m.

Street stocks

Main Event — 1. Jason Tole. 2. Eddie Blood. 3. Cory Sweatman. 4. Mike Knox. 5. Brian Harding. 6. Brian Izzi. 7. Jay Biggs. 8. Ryan Haney. 9. Ross Watkins. 10. Kelly Fugate.


Main Event — 1. Joe German. 2. Jeff Foster. 3. Tom Sweatman. 4. Zack Simpson. 5. Del Schnitzer. 6. Kris Asche. 7. Scott Westley. 8. Carl Larson. 9. Morgan Cristwell. 10. Alan Muenchow.

Northwest Extreme Sprints

Main Event — 1. Sammy Wright. 2. Kady Adelman. 3. Cory Samuelson. 4. Zach McCabe.


Main Event — 1. Chad Norton. 2. Jeff Warner. 3. William Wright. 4. Peggy Harding. 5. Shane Norton.