Hoquiam’s Smith, Espedal grab all-league honors on the court

Hoquiam post Cole Smith and guard Ronnie Espedal were named to the all-Evergreen 1A League boys basketball team announced this week.

Espedal and Smith, both seniors, were included on the six-player first team, chosen from coaches’ all-opponent teams.

Versatile Tenino standout Devante Harris received the league’s Most Valuable Player award. Rod Enos, who guided Tenino to the league championship, took Coach of the Year honors.

The all-Evergreen 1A girls team was published in Thursday’s edition.

The Evergreen 1A all-stars, plus all-academic selections for both genders:

MVP — Devante Harris, Tenino, Sr.

First Team

Braden Decker, Forks, Sr.; Ronnie Espedal, Hoquiam, Sr.; Cole Smith, Hoquiam, Sr.; Justin Conklin, Tenino, Sr.; Zach Froembling, Rainier, Jr.

Second Team

Kenny Roy, Montesano, Jr.; Layne Bruner, Montesano, Sr.; Chance Bremer, Elma, Jr.; Ray Stark, Elma, Jr.; Tyler Gedney, Rochester, Jr.

Honorable Mention

(Grays Harbor players only)

Elma — Ryan Collin.

All-Academic Boys and Girls

(Grays Harbor players only)

Elma — Ashlyn Malmstrom, Maddie Thompson, Izzy Cristelli, Sydney Smythe, Taryn Farrar, Megan Finger, Regan Wollen, Tyson Nauman, Ray Stark, Kevin Farr, Ryan Collin. Hoquiam — David Sandstrom, Ronnie Espedal, Devin Kelly, Cole Smith, Jaycob Guined, Joel Brydon, Blake Kelly, Ellie Quercia, Kelci Parker, Tiffani Dhooghe, Mikaila Johnson, Emily Gwinn, Bailee Bradley, Vanessa Doyle, Jessica Madison. Montesano — Tiana Schurr, Justine Nuckols, Megan Choate, Bobbi Fry, Andrea Ostwald, Cortney Miller, Kasie Kloempken, Shad Rogers. Ben Ohashi, Zack Nelson, Jeff Varness, Evan Bialkowsky, Matthew Jensen.