Monarchs win the Grizzly title

Eleven Twin Harbors wrestlers — six male and five female — emerged as champions in Hoquiam’s Grizzly Alumni Invitational Tournament on Saturday at Hoquiam Square Garden.

Mark Morris took team honors with 179 1/2 points. Elma, which produced one champion, used its depth to take second at 150 1/2, while Aberdeen — with three titlists — finished third at 147.

Aberdeen’s Jose Duran, Justin Berkley and Jordon Logan and Elma’s Brek McGaughy were among the boys champions. Willapa Harbor, faring very well against larger schools, batted 2-for-2 in the title round, with Hunter Borden and Matthew Boyes taking championships.

Hoquiam’s Sam King, Shiianna Anderson and Mariah Nelle and Elma’s Haley Brown and Rebecca Odegard won their divisions in the girls tournament being staged concurrently. There were no girls team standings compiled.

Berkley used an escape and takedown in the third round to edge Wahkiakum’s Mason Mackey, 5-3, in the 138-pound title match. The Aberdeen wrestler had upended Elma’s Tanner Sample via a third-round pin in the semifinals. Sample was injured during the final sequence and required hospital attention but was not seriously hurt, according to Elma coach Jason Dick.

Duran maintained control throughout in decisioning Mark Morris’ Tim Cachelin, 4-1, in the 170-pound title match.

Technically wrestling unattached, Logan won the 285-pound final by injury default from Elma’s Justin Sturdevant. Spun off the mat in the first round of a scoreless bout, Sturdevant clutched his knee in obvious pain and was unable to continue.

Aberdeen’s Jaime Miranda, the odds-on favorite in the heavyweight class, was disqualified in his quarterfinal match against Eatonville’s Chase DeMoor.

Miranda was comfortably ahead when he was called for an unintentional slam. DeMoor was unable to continue and was awarded the victory by disqualification. Miranda settled for third place.

“It’s very unfortunate, but it’s better to happen at an invitational rather than at district or state,” Bobcat coach Chuck Veloni said.

Willapa Harbor’s Borden edged Elma state veteran Layne Sutten in a tight 182-pound final. The once-beaten Borden used a reversal early in the third round to grab a 3-2 lead and resisted Sutten’s attempts to escape for the remainder of the match.

Boyes, who has won titles at virtually every tourney staged on Grays Harbor, pulled away with a reversal and takedown in the third round to top Mark Morris’ Joe Leal, 6-2, in the 195-pound championship match.

Leading 2-0 midway through the second round, McGaughy turned and pinned Cashmere’s Tyler Carrillo in the 220-pound match.

That was Elma’s only championship, but Dick said most of his experienced wrestlers competed up a weight from their customary divisions to allow more of his younger wrestlers to compete.

Aberdeen’s Tavo Sanchez was decisioned by Tenino ace Zack Chamberlain, 10-1, in the 160-pound final.

Olympic gold medalist Rulon Gardner attended the tournament, awarding medals and conducting a short clinic.

Primarily a motivational speaker these days, Gardner is scheduled to address a Hoquiam High assembly on Monday.

Mark Morris 179 1/2, Elma 150 1/2, Aberdeen 147, Winlock/Toledo/Onalaska 130 1/2, Cashmere 119, Eatonville 113 1/2, Hoquiam 108, Unattached 104 1/2, Willapa Harbor 92, Tenino 84, Wahkiakum 63, North Beach 28.

(Editor’s note: Most third-place matches not reported).

106: Championship — Christian Rivera (MM) pinned Austin Steele (Cash), 2:49. 3. Austin Boyes (WH) and Robinson Mark (Unattached). 113: Championship — Marco Bautista (Win/Tol) tech. fall over Travis Fillmore (Eaton), 21-6. 3. Nick Betrozoff (WH). 4. Mark Turpin (E). 120: Championship — Jordan Stello (MM) pinned A.J. Eversaul (Eaton), 0:19. 3. Jesse Velez (Hoq) and Gabe McMahon (Win/Tol). 126: Championship — Tony Raupp (Win/Tol) tech. fall over Luke Stacey (Wah), 16-0. 3. Quinn Rector (Ten) and Tristan Stutesman (Hoq).

132: Championship — Andrew Langlois (MM) pinned Riley Fisher (Ten), 3:42. 3. Grant Bowley (Unattached, Aberdeen) and Tristen Jimenez (Aberd). 138: Championship — Justin Berkley (A) dec. Mason Mackey (Wah), 5-3. 3. Sam Holbrook (Win/Tol) and Elijah Towery (NB). 145: Championship — Jacob James (Cash) dec. Weston Robinson (MM), 2-1. 3. Austin Cristelli (E) and Chase Robbins (Unattached, Elma). 152: Championship — Derek Troy (MM) dec. Brock Steele (Cash), 3-0.. Third — Derek Fruin (Win/Tol) and Jonathan Molina (Hoq). 160: Championship — Zack Chamberlain (Ten) dec. Tavo Sanchez (A), 10-1. 3. Steven Persell (E) and Cole Stevens (Unattached, Eatonville).

170: Championship — Jose Duran (A) dec. Tim Cachelin (MM), 4-1. 3. Kenny Huffman (Hoq) and Steven Persell (E). 182: Championship — Hunter Borden (WH) dec. Layne Sutten (E), 3-2. 3. Kyle Brown (Win/Tol) and Chucky Trinidad (Eat). 195: Championship — Matthew Boyes (WH) dec. Joe Leal (MM), 6-2. 3. Nick Lindseth (Hoq) and Tylor Brown (Eaton). 220: Championship — Brek McGaughy (E) pinned Tyler Carillo (Cash), 2:59. 3. Isaac Schwartz (MM) and George Crow (WH). 285: Championship — Jordon Logan (Unattached, Aberdeen) won inj. default over Justin Sturdevant (E). 3. Jaime Miranda (A). 4. Zack Caldwell (Win/Tol).