Monte’s Miller among Raceway winners

ELMA — Montesano’s Jeremy Miller was among a group of largely new main-event winners Saturday night at Grays Harbor Raceway.

Miller captured the midget car feature. Puyallup teen Trey Starks nabbed his first Elma main-event victory in the 360 sprint car classification, while Lawrence O’Connor from Port Hardy, B.C., won his second feature in the modified division.


Miller led for virtually the entire distance and fought off several challenges.

Chase Goetz of Snohomish placed second, with Michael Millard of Brinnon third. Garret Thomas of McCleary and Garrett Johnson of Poulsbo rounded out the top five.

360 Sprints

Starks beat out a pair of more experienced drivers in the 360 sprint main.

The Puyallup youngster shadowed Enumclaw’s Henry VanDam, the defending season points champion, for 14 laps before passing him on the 15th.

Veteran Medford driver Roger Crockett, who usually confines his Elma appearances to Northwest sprint tour events, gave chase but was unable to catch Sparks.

Crockett was second and was followed across the line by VanDam, J.J. Hickle of Quilcene and Reece Goetz of Snohomish.


Taking the high line for passes, O’Connor regained the lead for good on the 23rd lap of the main event.

Scott Miller of Shelton was second while reigning champion and current season leader Joe German of the Wishkah Valley placed third. Kris Asche of Shelton and Craig Moore of Seabeck finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Racing resumes Saturday, with competition in the 360 sprint, hobby stock and hornet classifications.

Preliminary results

360 Sprints

Heat Race One — Henry Van Dam. Heat Race Two — Trey Starks. Fast time — Roger Crockett, 12.068.


Heat Race One — Scott Miller. Heat Race Two — Craig Moore. Fast time — Joe German, 16.158.


Heat Race One — Jeremy Miller. Heat Race Two — Chase Goetz. Fast time — Jared Peterson, 16.237.