Nine Harborites named to all-Evergreen baseball

Nine Grays Harbor players — six from league champion Montesano — were named to the all-Evergreen 1A League baseball team announced this week.

Montesano senior pitcher-first baseman Layne Bruner was selected as the league’s Most Valuable Player. He joined teammates Matt Jensen, Shad Rogers, Zack Nelson, Elliot Mendenhall and Tucker Ibabao on the all-league first team.

Hoquiam’s Sam Lowder and Jake Guined and Elma’s Todd Swinhart also earned first-team recognition.

Mike Bruner, who guided Montesano to an unbeaten regular season and league championship, was chosen by his peers as the Evergreen 1A League Coach of the Year. Bruner topped the 100-mark in career victories this season.

The Evergreen 1A all-stars:

First Team

MVP — Layne Bruner, Montesano, Sr.

Pitchers — Matt Jensen, Montesano, Sr.; Sam Lowder, Hoquiam, Jr.; Dustin Wilson, Rochester, Jr.

Catcher — Zack Chamberlain, Tenino, Jr.

Infielders — Dustin Hammond, Tenino, Sr.; Shad Rogers, Montesano, Sr.; Zack Nelson, Montesano, Sr.; Jake Guined, Hoquiam, Sr.; Lucas Eastman, Rochester, Soph.

Outfielders — Devante Harris, Tenino, Sr.; Elliot Mendenhall, Montesano, Sr.; Todd Swinhart, Elma, Jr.; Mitchell Leppell, Forks, Sr.

Designated hitter — Mac Shaw, Tenino, Sr.

Utility — Tucker Ibabao, Montesano, Sr.

Second Team

Pitchers — Layne Sutten, Elma, Sr.; Kolton McKitrick, Tenino, Jr.; Javier Contreras, Forks, Soph.

Catcher — Ben Hansen, Rainier, Sr.

Infielders — Joel Brydon, Hoquiam, Jr.; Zeb Chamberlain, Tenino, Soph.; Jesse Wolford, Elma, Sr.; Dylan Fosnacht, Rochester, Jr.; Josh Steen, Hoquiam, Sr.

Outfielders — Blake Kelly, Hoquiam, Sr.; Dominic Angwood, Rochester, Sr.; Kody Usher, Montesano, Sr.

Utility — Nick Camenzind, Elma, Jr.

Designated hitter — Josh Bishop, Hoquiam, Jr.

Honorable Mention

(Grays Harbor players only)

Hoquiam — Drew Bravos, Kyle Standstipher. Elma — Charlie Simpson. Montesano — Richard Smith, Nathan Nussbaum.


(Grays Harbor players only)

Hoquiam — Drew Bravos, Joel Brydon, Ronnie Espedal, Kolby Crowell, Jake Guined, Blake Kelly, Sam Lowder. Montesano — Zack Nelson, Shad Rogers, Matt Jensen, Evan Bialkowsky, Tucker Ibabao, Elliot Mendenhall, Nathan Nussbaum. Elma — Layne Sutten, Tyler LaDue, Todd Swinhart.