The Olympians hiking calendar for Feburary


Sunday, Feb. 5

Elma Area Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen (America’s Diner parking lot) at 12:30 p.m. or meet leader at Elma at 1 p.m. for a miderate hike in West Elma (desert after hike), 482-4629.

Tuesday, Feb. 7

Aberdeen Evening Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 7 p.m. for a nice stroll around the streets of Aberdeen (no hills), 538-7425.

Friday, Feb. 10

Alaska Slide Show, Meet at Aberdeen Presbyterian Church at 7:30 p.m. as The Olympians present a slideshow — Alaska from Prudhoe Bay to Anchorage, 538-7425.

Saturday, Feb. 11

Hoodsport Area Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 9 a.m. to head out for an easy paced hike with some hills on the Big Creek Trail, 268-9075.

Tuesday, Feb. 14

Cosmopolis Evening Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 7 p.m. or meet at the Cosmopolis Lions Club at 7:15 p.m. for an evening hike (with hills) around Cosmopolis, 532-3122.

Saturday, Feb. 18

Colonel Bob Winter Snowshoe Climb, Call the leader for information on this winter snowshow approach to Colonel Bob’s Summit, 532-3122.

Tuesday, Feb. 21

Westport Evening Hike, Leave Westport Y Park at 7 p.m. for an evening hike around Westport, 268-9075.

Saturday, Feb. 25

Delezene Creek Day Hike, Leave Elma’s Third Street Park and Ride at 9:30 a.m. for this hike along Delezene Creek through the Gerry Oaks south of Elma, 482-8012.

Sunday, Feb. 26

Hoquiam Area Leisure Rambler Hike, Leave Hoquiam at 1:30 p.m. for a leisure rambler hike around Hoquiam, 249-3508.

Tuesday, Feb. 28

Aberdeen City Streets Evening Hike, Leave Aberdeen DSHS parking lot at 7 p.m. for a hike around the city (with hills), 533-2485.

Saturday, March 3

Hoh River Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 8 a.m. to hike along the Hoh River to one of the quietest places in the US, 538-7425.

Tuesday, March 6

Aberdeen Evening Hill Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 7 p.m. for a hilly hike around Aberdeen, 538-7425.

Friday, March 9

Galapagos Island Slideshow, Meet at the Aberdeen Presbyterian Church at 7:30 p.m. as The Olympians host a slide show — The Galapagos Islands — that will feature beautiful photographer and plenty of humor, 249-3667.

Saturday, March 10

Mount Elinor Winter Climb/Snowshoe, Call the leader for information on this hike that will require winter equipment and clothing, 533-4552.

Tuesday, March 13

Aberdeen Evening Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 7 p.m. for this evening hike (with hills), 533-0879.

Saturday, March 17

John’s River “Hunt For Spring” Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 9:30 a.m. for this easy paced hike with some hills as The Olympians look for signs of spring along John’s River, 533-3637.

Tuesday, March 20

Cosmopolis Area Evening Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 7 p.m. or meet at Cosmopolis Lions Club at 7:15 p.m. for this flat hike around Cosmopolis, 532-3122.

Sunday, March 25

Southside Aberdeen Leisure Rambler, Leave Aberdeen DSHS at 1:30 p.m. for a leisure rambler hike on the trail beside the river in South Aberdeen, 249-3508.

Tuesday, March 27

Hoquiam Evening Hike, Leave Hoquiam (U.S. Bank) at 7 p.m. for this easy to moderate hike on the city streets of Hoquiam, 533-2485.

Saturday, March 31

Ocean Shores Day Hike, Leave Hoquiam at 9:30 a.m. for this easy to moderate hike that could be beach/forest/whatever to walk along and through, 533-2485.

Castle and Pinnacle Peak Showshoe Climb, Call the leader for this winter snowshoe approach to a couple of the Tatoosh Range peaks, 533-4552.