The Olympians Hiking Calendar for Sunday, February 17


Tuesday, Feb. 19

South Aberdeen Evening Hike, Leave the Dennis Company parking lot at 7 p.m. with a flashlight in hand for this easy dike and road hike with no hills, 533-2485.

Saturday, Feb. 23

Moulton Falls Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 8 a.m. for this relatively flat hike to a water falls near Yacolt (near Vancouver) for views of the Lewis River along the way, 538-7428.

Tuesday, Feb. 26

Elma Evening Hike, Leave the west end of Elma High Shcool small parking lot at 7 p.m. for this mostly flat hike around town, 249-3508.

Saturday, March 2

Capitol Forest Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 9 a.m. to meet at the Elma Texaco Station at 9:30 a.m. for this Capitol Forest Hike with hills, 942-8698.

Anderson Butte Battle, Call the leader to sign up for this hike up a brushy road in the Wynoochee Valley then cross country upslope to an old lookout site above the Wynoochee Lake (snowshoes may be needed), 267-7715.

Tuesday, March 5

Elma Vance Creek Park Evening Hike, Leave the Elma Park & Ride at 7 p.m. for this mostly flat evening hike, 482-4629.

Friday, March 8

Olympians Hiking Slide Show, Meet everyone at the Aberdeen Presbyterian Church at 7:30 p.m. to view a few classic videos — the “Olympic Elk” an early Walt Disney classic from Herb Crisler and a short feature on an Olympic beach hike, 267-7715.

Saturday, March 9

Astoria Column Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 9 a.m. to drive to Astoria and begin the hike at the Astoria Maritime Museum proceeding to the column (uphill) then return to the town of Astoria (bring a lunch and appropriate weather clothing), 538-7425.

Sunday, March 10

Preacher’s Slough Leisure Rambler Day Hike, Leave Montesano at 1:30 p.m. for this hike, 249-3508.

Tuesday, March 12

Aberdeen Evening Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 7 p.m. for this hike around Aberdeen that may have a hill or three, 533-3637.

Saturday, March 16

Northwest Trek Day Hike, Leave Aberdeen at 8 a.m. to leave Elma at 8:30 a.m. for this hike through the critter enclosures and beyond with the possibility of babies at this time of the year (entry fee is $17 for ages 13-64 and $15.50 for seniors 65-over), 482-4629.