Sports Briefs for Friday, June 15

Northwest Wingless Tour race set for Elma

The Northwest Wingless Tour will return to Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma on Saturday.

This will be the tour’s second stop in Elma this season. Competition is also scheduled in the midget, hobby stock and hornet classifications. Racing is scheduled for 6:30 p.m.

Youth football/cheerleading signups set for Sunday

The Hoquiam Youth Football and Cheerleading League will host signups for the upcoming season at 3 p.m. Sunday at the YMCA of Grays Harbor.

All children in grades kindergarden through sixth are welcome. For more information, call 532-5270.

HHS baseball awards announced

The Hoquiam High School baseball team announced its team awards at an awards banquet on June 5.

Ryan Burnett was named Impact Player of the Year, while Michael Browne was awarded a third-year letter winner award to go with his Big Stick award and all-Evergreen 1A outfielder honors. The award winners were:

Varsity: Impact Player of the Year — Ryan Burnett. Big Stick (Best Hitter) — Michael Browne. Golden Glove Winners — Ronnie Espedal, Jake Guines and Josh Steen. Cy Young Pitching Award — Sammy Lowder. All-Evergreen 1A League Outfield — Michael Browne. Most Inspirational — Drew Bravos. Most Improved — Drew Bravos.

Letterwinners: Third-Year — Michael Browne. Second-Year — Ronnie Espedal, Jake Guined, Cody Parker, Anthony Chapin, Josh Steen. First-Year — Ryan Burnett, Drew Bravos, Joel Brydon, Sammy Lowder, Cody Crowell.

Junior Varsity: .600 Club — Blake Kelly (.615 batting average). Most Inspirational — Blake Kelly and Kolby Crowell. Big Stick (Best Hitter) — Josh Bishop. Cy Young Pitching Award — Tristan Stutesman and Kyle Standstipher. Most Improved — Kolby Standstipher.

Novy, Baker earn Monte awards

Seniors Austin Baker and Tera Novy received the Don Parks Outstanding Student-Athlete awards at the Montesano High School spring sports awards function recently.

Spring sports awards:

Boys Soccer: MVP — Kellen Church. Coaches Awards — Kyle Black. Defensive MVP — Skye Jefferson. Most Improved — Brandon Lovell.

Baseball: Most Valuable — Austin Baker. Inspirational — Shad Rogers. Most Improved — Elliot Mendenhall. Bulldog Award — Austin Baker. Silver Slugger — Austin Baker. Golden Glove — Evan Truax. Pitching Ace Award — Layne Bruner. Coaches Award — Derrick Waber.

Softball: MVP — Megan Choate. Inspirational — Bobbi Fry. Most Improved — Kendra Warnock.

Track: Most Meet Points — Tera Novy and Joe Benedict. Coaches Awards — Joe Benedict and Myranda Floch. Captains — Tera Novy and Joe Benedict. Inspirational — Tyson Lovell and Gabrielle Rudolph. Most Improved — Andrea Ostwald and Matthew Peoples.

Girls Golf: Medalist — Kaelyn Walker. Most Improved — Madi Besaw. Coaches Award — Julia Meier. Bulldog Award — Morgan Geer.

Girls Tennis: MVP — Kayla Whitney. Inspirational — Lingxing Schoch. Most Improved — Bailey Malizia. Coaches Award — Johanna Brulotte.

Bassett Memorial Tourney set

Registration is being accepted for the 17th annual Bassett Memorial Softball Tournament, scheduled July 27-29 at the McCleary City Park.

The entry fee is $175 per team. All proceeds benefit the Bassett Memorial Scholarship Fund, which awards three scholarships each year to graduates of Elma High School.

Further information may be obtained by contacting Karen Bassett Olson at 482-2717.

Daily World staff reports