Thirty-seven Twin Harbor wrestlers to compete this weekend at Mat Classic XXV

High school wrestlers from the past and present will gather this weekend at the Tacoma Dome to mark the 25th edition of the Mat Classic, the Washington state high school wrestling championships.

For 37 Twin Harbors wrestlers, the weekend’s festivities won’t be the only thing on their minds as they compete in four of the six concurrently contested state tournaments on the floor of the dome.

On Friday, the first round of the tournaments will kick off at 10 a.m. On Saturday, the championship finals will begin at 5:15 p.m.

Prior to the finals, a celebration of the Mat Classic’s 25 years of competition will showcase the tournament’s four-time state champions and the parade of champion.

On Friday afternoon, the WIAA will honor all of the 1989 Mat Classic individual boys champions and the 2007 Mat Classic individual girls champions — the first year for each of the tournaments. Four Grays Harbor wrestlers — two men and two women — will be among those honored.

In the 1989 boys championship group, three-time state champions Chris Jensen, of Hoquiam, and David Graham, of Elma, will be honored. Jensen won state titles from 1988-90, while Graham won state titles from 1987-89.

In the 2007 girls championship group, two-time state champion Kelsey Klein, of Hoquiam, and Alex White, of Hoquiam, will be honored. Klein won two state titles in 2007 and 2009, while White won in 2007. Hoquiam’s girls won the 2007 Mat Classic girls team title as well.

Other presentations will be made throughout the two-day event in between sessions.

37 wrestlers

A lucky 13 wrestlers from the Twin Harbors will walk into the Tacoma Dome as regional champs, giving them a top-seeded spot in their weight classes.

The all-classification girls tournament will have one Harbor regional champion, Hoquiam’s Sam King at 155 pounds. In the sub-regional and regional championship matches, King took on teammate Taylor Walker. Both are expected to medal and could face one another in the finals this weekend.

In the Class 1A tournament, five of the six Harbor regional champs will wear Elma blue — Ryan Wilson, 106 pounds; Matt Gamino, 113; Tanner Sample, 132; Tyson Dick, 138; and Layne Sutten, 170.

Hoquiam’s Jonathan Molina was a regional champ in the 152 division.

The Class 2B-1B tournament will also have six Harbor champions, three of them from regional team champion, Raymond, which is a favorite along with Ocosta, to crack the top-10 team standings this weekend.

Grant Camenzind, at 145; Josh Camenzind, at 170; and Matthew Boyes, at 195, will represent Raymond as regional champs. Ocosta’s Connor Maben, at 120, and Drew Angelus, at 132, along with North Beach’s Daniel Fruh, at 285, won regional titles as well.

Here is the full list of Twin Harbors wrestlers (excluding alternates), by classification, who’ll compete at the Mat Classic XXV this weekend:

Class 2A

Aberdeen — Jose Duran, 170; Jordon Logan, 285.

Class 1A

Elma — Ryan Wilson, 106; Matt Gamino, 113; Tanner Sample, 132; Tyson Dick, 138; Austin Cristelli, 145; Layne Sutten, 170; Austin Carrell, 195.

Hoquiam — Jesse Velez, 120; Tristan Stutesman, 126; David Molitor, 138; Jonathan Molina, 152; Nick Lindseth, 195.

Montesano — Kylar Prante, 145; Cristian Gutierrez, 152; Anthony Louthan, 170; Ben O’Brien, 182.

Class 2B-1B

North Beach -- Elijah Towery, 138; Daniel Fruh, 285.

Ocosta — Connor Maben, 120; Drew Angelus, 132; Brian Hart, 160; Nikko Contreras, 195; Daniel Helman, 285.

Raymond — Grant Camenzind, 145; Shilo Borden, 145; Josh Camenzind, 170; Hunter Borden, 182; Matthew Boyes, 195; George Crow, 220.

South Bend — Austin Boyes, 106.

Willapa Valley — Nick Betrozoff, 113.