Three Harbor drivers win midseason championship races

ELMA — Grays Harbor drivers batted .750 by taking three of the four main events during the midseason championships Saturday at Grays Harbor Raceway.

Zack Simpson and Jason Tole of Hoquiam captured the modified and street stock feature races, respectively.

Jeff Daniel of Ocean Shores nabbed the hornet main, while Chase Goetz of Snohomish prevailed in the midget car feature.

The races were followed by a large fireworks show.


Simpson took the lead on the 14th lap and was never caught in capturing his first modified main victory of the season.

Jeff Foster of McCleary was the early leader but faltered to fourth. Scott Miller of Shelton took second, followed by veteran Cosmopolis driver Tom Sweatman.

Hobby stocks

This was Tole’s fifth main-event victory of the season.

Tole overtook fellow Hoquiamite Jack Parshall on the seventh lap. He turned back some challenges by Parshall to lead the remainder of the race.

Parshall held on for second, while Cory Sweatman of Cosmopolis finished third.


Daniel registered his first main-event victory since taking the season opener in April.

Zach Dalrymple and Chad Norton followed Daniel across the finish line.


Goetz continued his domination of the midget classification.

The Snohomish teen went wire-to-wire for his fourth victory in five Raceway starts. Garrett Thomas of McCleary was second and Jeremy Miller of Elma finished third.

One of the major events of the season is planned this weekend as the American Sprint Car Series Sprint Car Nationals are planned Friday and Saturday.

Drivers from the ASCS national tour will join their counterparts from the Northwest region. Northwest Wingless Tour racing is also planned for both nights.

Racing begins at 6:30 both nights. Two-day passes will be offered for $42 for adults, $38 for juniors, senior citizens and members of the military and $18 for youths. Premium seating costs $55 for the two nights.

Single-day admission is $23 for adults, $20 for seniors/juniors/miltary and $10 for youths. Children 5 and under are admitted free, with premium seating for one night costing $30.


A main — Zack Simpson, Scott Miller, Tom Sweatman, Jeff Foster, Rayun McMichael.

Street Stocks

A main — Jason Tole, Jack Parshall, Cory Sweatman, Don Briggs Jr., Eddie Blood, Austin Kerrigan, Shane Kerrigan, Brian Izzi, Kelly Fugate, Ross Watkins.


A main — Chase Goetz, Garrett Thomas, Jeremy Miller, Ariel Biggs, Tyler Anderson.


A main — Jeff Daniel, Zach Dalrymple, Chad Norton, Chris Pugsley, Jeserae Norton, Peggy Harding, Don Briggs Sr., Jason Valentine, Jeff Warner, Judson Willis.