Three Harborites pick up the big awards on all-Evergreen 1A teams

Three Grays Harbor players won special awards accompanying the all-Evergreen 1A League boys soccer team announced this week.

Hoquiam junior Israel Fernandez received the Offensive Most Valuable Player award. Montesano’s Skye Jefferson and Hoquiam’s Osiel Rivera shared Defensive MVP honors.

Rochester standout Ricky Zamudio earned the league’s Player of the Year award.

Brian Zases, who guided Rochester to a league championship, was chosen by his peers as the league’s Coach of the Year.

Hoquiam’s Anthony Hernandez, Austin Montoure, D.J. Cox and goalkeeper Jamie Bigbie, Elma’s Edgar Hermenegildo, Trevor Hann, Reynaldo Ayala and Kevin Martinez and Montesano’s Kellen Church and Kyle Black were also selected for the first team.

Montesano received the Sportsmanship Award.

The Evergreen 1A all-stars:

Player of the Year — Ricky Zamudio, Rochester, Sr.

Offensive MVP — Israel Fernandez, Hoquiam, Jr.

Defensive MVP — Skye Jefferson, Montesano, Jr.; Osiel Rivera, Hoquiam, Soph.

First Team

Forwards — Kellen Church, Montesano, Sr.; Trevor Hann, Elma, Jr.; Anthony Hernandez, Hoquiam, Sr.; Fernando Aguilar, Rochester, Jr.; Angel Vasquea, Rochester, Soph.

MidfieldersReynaldo Ayala, Elma, Jr.; Edgar Heremenegildo, Elma, Soph.; Austin Montoure, Hoquiam, Jr.; Geovany Miguel, Forks, Fresh.; Kyle Black, Montesano, Sr.; Alexis Ayala, Rochester, Sr.

Defenders — D.J. Cox, Hoquiam, Jr.; Kevin Martinez, Elma, Sr.; Jonathan Rivas, Rochester, Soph.; Tyler Lanford, Tenino, Sr.

Goalkeeper — Jamie Bigbie, Hoquiam, Jr.

Honorable Mention

(Grays Harbor players only)

Elma — Steven Persell, Garrett Thomas. Hoquiam — Owen Quercia, Alex Munoz. Montesano — Eduardo Lopez, Nikko Sprinkle.