UCLA wins first College World Series title

OMAHA —UCLA has a record 109 team championships. For the first time, the Bruins are celebrating a title on the baseball diamond.

Nick Vander Tuig pitched eight shutout innings and UCLA routed Mississippi State, 8-0, to clinch the NCAA College World Series title in two games.

The Bruins (49-17), who won 3-1 Monday night to open the best-of-three finals, pounded out 12 hits in the clincher.

Sophomore outfielder Eric Filia knocked in a career-high five runs and Brian Carroll scored three times.

Vander Tuig (14-4) allowed five hits and had six strikeouts. David Berg, who on Monday set a new NCAA record with his 24th save of the season, received a flip from first baseman Pat Gallagher for the final out and the celebration commenced for the Bruins, who won their final 11 games of the year. They lost to South Carolina in the 2010 CWS finals. It was the Bruins’ third CWS appearance in four years.

“This whole team is so close and I can’t really explain how happy I am,” Vander Tuig said. “Our defense has been great all year and our pitching staff has a lot of heart. We have each other’s back. I can’t be more proud of this team. I’m going to miss them.”

Luis Pollorena (6-4) was replaced after one inning for the Bulldogs (51-20), who have yet to win a team championship in any of the school’s sports.

Mississippi State managed just five hits, all singles, and committed three errors.