Valley girls win first cross country meet in nine years

OYEHUT — Willapa Valley won its first girls cross country meet since 2003 by capturing team honors at North Beach High School’s Harriers at the Beach cross country meet on Tuesday.

With seven runners placing in the top 19, the Vikings totaled 22 points — 26 ahead of runner-up Naselle. Jessica Cook was the only Valley girls to place in the top five, taking fourth.

“I haven’t had to deal with team scores in a long time,” laughed Willapa Harbor coach Brad Donovan, acknowledging that Ocosta probably would have surpassed Valley with a full team. “To have seven girls instead of five is really exciting.”

Rochester took boys team honors with 24. Ocosta’s boys placed third.

Rochester’s Kenna Fosnacht won the girls meet, covering the 3.1-mile course around North Beach High School in 21:28. Ilwaco’s Evan Sutherland was the boys winner in 18:46.

Ocosta’s Luke Anderson was the top Twin Harbors male finisher, taking fourth. Donovan cited the improvement of Raymond Glover of Raymond.

North Beach honored seniors, Joseph Wagner and Megan Leighty, at the meet. Kasey Hearn was cited by Hyak coach Wendy Leighty for a fine performance.

“It was the first home meet we’ve had in three years and it ended up being a real nice meet,” Leighty said.


1. Evan Sutherland (I) 18:46. 2. Angel Vasquez (Roch) 18:46. 3. Ryan Baxter (Roch) 19:22. 4. Luke Anderson (Ocost) 19:35. 5. Peter Holman (Roch) 20:07.

Other Twin Harborites in top 30:

7. Gabe Hernandez (NB). 8. Raymond Glover (Raymond). 15. Biely Chum (Oco). 16. Cohen Hansen (South Bend). 20. Juan Arellano (Willapa Valley). 21. Jeremy Bennett (Willapa Valley). 22. Joseph Wagner (NB). 23. Griffin Wright (Oco). 24. Aaron deMontigny (Raymond). 25. Elijah Obermire (Oco). 27. Jose Bucio (South Bend). 28. Dominic DeLong (Willapa Valley). 29. Marvin Watkins (Ocosta).


1. Kenna Fosnacht (Roch) 21:28. 2. Katie Green (Naselle) 22:04. 3. Guadalupe Vasquez (Roch) 22:29. 4. Jessica Cook (Willapa Valley) 22:37. 5. Sararose Gallo (Ocosta) 22:41.

Other Twin Harborites in top 20:

7. Kelsey Gundersen (Ocosta). 8. Chelsea Griffin (Ocosta). 9. Kasey Hearn (NB). 10. Rebecca Lundholm (Ocosta). 11. Mariah Silvera (Willapa Valley). 12. Dominique Kudasik (Willapa Valley). 14. Morgan Walker (Willapa Valley). 15. Kiana Tanaka (Willapa Valley). 16. Denise McDonald (Willapa Valley). 19. Alicia Smaciarz (Willapa Valley).