Monte’s Rudolph wins Hoquiam Invite girls title

With Gabrielle Rudolph and Andrea Ostwald leading the way, Montesano made a triumphant return to Hoquiam’s Grizzly Alumni Cross Country Invitational.

Rudolph and Ostwald finished one-two in the varsity girls portion of the Grizzly Alumni meet Saturday at Sea Breeze Oval.

After bypassing this meet the last few years, Montesano came close to capturing the girls team championship in the multi-classification event.

The Bulldogs had four girls place in the top 11, but Class 3A Shelton used its superior depth to take team honors with 65 points. Montesano tied South Kitsap for second with 69, but the Wolves officially earned the runner-up berth due to a higher finish by their sixth runner.

“The girls ran great, they’ve been running like that all year long,” Monte coach James Edwards saluted. “(Future accomplishments) depend on our fifth runner, but I’m proud of them. They’ve been working hard.”

La Center nabbed the boys team title, with Shelton’s Cody Williamson capturing the individual title.

Rudolph, as is her custom, essentially went wire-to-wire in the girls race.

The Montesano senior established a 16-second lead when the runners exited John Gable Park about 800 meters from the start. She maintained close to that margin for the remainder of the 5,000-meter race, finishing in 19:66.4.

The surprise came from Ostwald. Running a fairly distant third behind Rudolph and South Kitsap’s Eva Knowles at the midway point, Ostwald overtook Knowles on the second trip down the fire lane behind the Hoquiam High School campus and wound up second in 20:03.71.

Montesano’s Sydney Potter placed fifth and Baylee Roble 11th.

Elma’s Daphne Peek finished eighth and Ocosta freshman Kathryn Anderson had the satisfaction of outkicking a pair of rivals in the final 100 meters to cracking the top 10. Ninth in 21:14.36., she was the meet’s top Class B finisher.

Montesano’s Brandon Lovell had a strong showing in the boys race. He was the lone Harborite in the top 10, placing sixth in 17:16.26.

Williamson and La Center’s Kyle DeGraaff quickly separated themselves from the pack in this race. The former won it in 16:19.86, about 20 seconds ahead of DeGraaff.

The Bulldogs were unable to field a full boys team, but Edwards was pleased that Lovell and teammate Gabe Spearin fulfilled their pre-meet goal. The Monte coach had challenged those two to beat the time of powerhouse La Center’s seventh runner.

Elma’s Wesley Allen, bothered by a tight hamstring, barely missed the top 10 with an 11th-place finish.

“We’re tired,” Eagle coach Dave Beeler explained. “We trained all through the week, knowing we had two weeks before the league meet (Oct. 24 at Montesano).”

Elma’s Kyle Smith and Brody Burbidge, however, did attain significant time drops from their performances on the same course last year.

Hoquiam’s Austin Drake and Emma Skinner won the frosh-soph races. Drake was clocked in 19:06.57 and Skinner in 22:57.29. South Kitsap’s Zachary Phillips and La Center’s Haley Stinson won the JV races.

After a few years of spotty local participation, at least at the varsity level, all Twin Harbors teams with the exception of Aberdeen (which cited conflicts with Homecoming activities) competedat Hoquiam this year.


Shelton 65, South Kitsap 69, Montesano 69, La Center 86, Elma 135, Ocosta 145

1. Gabrielle Rudolph (Monte) 19:46.40. 2. Andrea Ostwald (Monte) 20:03.71. 3. Eva Knowles (S. Kitsap) 20:11.30. 4. Anika Parker (Shelton) 20:23.83. 5. Sydney Potter (Monte) 20:29.92. 6. Serena Wallace (Centralia) 20:44.64. 7. Katie Whitten (LC) 21:05.18. 8. Daphne Peek (E) 21:12.08. 9. Kathryn Anderson (Oco) 21:14.36. 10. Lindsey Goldsby (Shelton) 21:15.94.

Other Twin Harborites in top 40: 11. Baylee Roble (Monte). 18. Luna Zang (E). 19. Jessica Cook (Willapa Valley). 20. Kelsey Gundersen (Oco). 24. Kasey Hearn (North Beach). 26. Dominique Kudasik (Willapa Valley). 33. Alexis Franklin (Hoq). 35. Cora Foss (Hoq). 36. Cynthia Alatorre (E). 39. McKenzie Ballo (Oco). 40. Savannah Burbank (South Bend).


La Center 35, Shelton 41, South Kitsap 83, Elma 98, Centralia 136

1. Cody Williamson (Shel) 16:19.86. 2. Kyle DeGraaff (LC) 16:39.44. 3. Cory Richardson (Cent) 17:01.10. 4. Jordon Bigler (LC) 17:10.71. 5. Jonathan Bay (Shel) 17:12.81. 6. Brandon Lovell (Monte) 17:16.26. 7. Darius Burke (Shel) 17:21.60. 8. Travis Dennis (LC) 17:22.99. 9. Evan Sutherland (Ilwaco) 17:23.29. 10. Jason Dorsey (LC) 17:30.26.

Other Twin Harborites in top 40: 11. Wesley Allen (E). 17. Dylan Bennett (E). 18. Gabe Spearin (Monte). 20. Kyle Smith (E). 28. Lukas Starks (E). 33. Dakota Jefferson (Monte). 35. Brody Burbidge (E). 37. Emir Turarov (Monte). 40. Luke Anderson (Oco).