Desisa and Jeptoo capture Boston Marathon titles

BOSTON — Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia captured the Boston Marathon on Monday, while Kenya’s Rita Jeptoo claimed the women’s title for a second time.

Desisa finished in a time of 2 hours, 10 minutes and 22 seconds to break Kenya’s string of three straight Boston champions. He became the fourth Ethiopian winner and first since Deriba Merga in 2009. Hailu Negussie in 2005 and Abebe Mekonnen in 1989 were the other Boston winners from Ethiopia.

Kenya’s Micah Kogo finished second, just five seconds behind, followed by Ethiopia’s Gebregziabher Gebremariam at 2:10.28 and American Jason Hartmann at 2:12.12. Hartmann also finished fourth last year.

Defending men’s champ Wesley Korir of Kenya was fifth, finishing at 2:12.30.

Jeptoo crossed the finish line first for the women in a time of 2:26.25 for her second Boston Marathon win. She also won in 2006 and became the third straight Kenyan to win the women’s crown.

Ethiopia’s Meseret Hailu finished second at 2:26.58 and 2012 champion Sharon Cherop was next at 2:27.01.

A Kenyan woman has claimed the title 10 times in the last 14 years.

American Shalane Flanagan was fourth, followed by Tirfi Tsegaye of Ethiopia and American Kara Goucher.