Sports in Brief 6/18

Monte’s Jensen, Nuckols honored

Seniors Justine Nuckols and Matthew Jensen received the Don Parks Outstanding Athlete awards at the Montesano High School spring sports awards ceremony recently.

Other awards:

Baseball: Most Valuable Teammate — Shad Rogers and Layne Bruner. Most Improved Teammate — Kody Usher, Richard Smith. Inspirational — Shad Rogers. Bulldog Award — Zack Nelson. Coaches Award — Nate Nussbaum, Tucker Ibabao. Pitchers Ace Award — Layne Bruner. Silver Stick — Elliot Mendenhall. Golden Glove — Matt Jensen. JV MVP — Cole Nelson. JV Inspirational — Jacob Hliboki. JV Most Improved — James Stewart. JV Bulldog Award — Maguire Cavanaugh. JV Pitchers Ace Award — Kyler Landry. JV Coaches Award — Jake Herzog. JV Silver Stick — Maguire Cavanaugh. JV Golden Glove — Riley Olsen. Four-year letters — Layne Bruner, Tucker Ibabao, Matt Jensen, Elliot Mendenhall, Zack Nelson, Nathan Nussbaum, Shad Rogers, Richard Smith.

Track: MVP — Tyson Lovell and Myranda Floch. Most Improved — Sydney Potter and Tristan Darst. Inspirational — Andrea Ostwald and Tyson Lovell. Captains — Anthony Louthan and Gabrielle Rudolph. Coaches Award — Logan Truax and Alexis Schupbach. Four-year letters — Tyson Lovell.

Tennis: MVP — Johanna Brulotte. Most Improved — Katie Ayres and Elizabeth Taborski. Inspirational — April Easter. Coaches Award — Lingxing Zhang. Four-year letters — Johanna Brulotte.

Girls Golf: Medalist — Kaelyn Walker. Most Improved — Morgan Geer. Rising Star Award — Caity Quinn. Team Spirit Award — Madi Besaw. Bulldog Award — Sami St. Onge. Coaches Award — Ashley Aschim. Four-year letters — Kaelyn Walker, Caity Quinn.

Softball: MVP — Courtney Swan. Inspirational — Bobbi Fry. Most Improved — Kasie Kloempken. Four-year letters — Bobbi Fry, Justine Nuckols, Alexis Prante, Courtney Swan. JV MVP — Kasie Kloempken. JV Inspirational — Brooke Whitesell. JV Most Improved — Abigail Vance.

Boys Soccer: MVP — Cody Olsen. Offensive MVP — Brandon Lovell. Defensive MVP — Nolan Walker. Hustle Award — Bobby Sprinkle. JV Defensive Coaches Award — Donovan Wargo. JV Offensive Coaches Award — Branden Sandberg. Four-year letters — Skye Jefferson, Cody Olsen, Bobby Sprinkle, Tim St. Onge.

Browning wins Grays Harbor Amateur

Alan Browning captured the Grays Harbor Men’s Amateur Golf Tournament on Sunday at Grays Harbor Country Club.

The only golfer to better par, Browning finished with a 36-hole total of 139 to finish one stroke ahead of former Hoquiam High standout Nolan Sand.

Steve Natwick of the host club took medalist honors with a 127. The final standings:

Gross: Alan Browning 139, Nolan Sand 140, Adam Rehfeld 141, Patrick Nugent 141, Jeff Wright 142.

Net: Steve Natwick 127, Hans Stegemoeller 129, Mike Malone 131, Bruce Beck 131, Steve Solan 133, George Adams 133, Jim Lindberg 133.

KP — Jim Bunch, Nolan Sand, Shaun Carson, Tom Cosper, Patrick Nugent. Horse Race — Carl Waara-Nelson Papp, first; Mike Sand-Tyson Thao, second; Tom Weber-John Eilers, third.

Bickar captures county women’s sweeps

Melanie Bickar of Highland Golf Course won the Grays Harbor County Women’s Golf Sweeps tourney last week at Tumwater Valley Golf Course.

Bickar shot a 92 to take the gross division. Rieta Hill of Ocean Shores was the net winner with a 72, while two Ocean Shores members, Nancy Ludwig and Carolyn Lindsey, teamed up to win the best ball team title. Division winners:

First Division: Gross — Linda Hulbert 100. Net — Cherry Scure 74. Second Division: Gross — Judy Paul 107. Net — Patti Fisher 73. Long Drive — Cherry Scure, Carolyn Lindsey. KP — Cherry Scure, Carolyn Lindsey.