Top field due for Pro-Am

Reigning Washington State Open Chris Griffin of Tacoma will be bidding for his fifth title in the 55th annual Leo Hoder Memorial Grays Harbor Pro-Am Golf Tournament this weekend at Grays Harbor Country Club.

The tournament runs Saturday and Sunday, with shotgun starts scheduled for 7:45 a.m. and 1:15 p.m. both days.

A strong field includes all three of last year’s tri-champions.

Griffin, who captured the State Open last May, shared last year’s crown with former Washington and Oregon Open champion Brian Nosler of Vancouver and Olympia pro Shane Prante, whose parents are Elma High School graduates. All three are due back this year.

So is mini-tour veteran John Cassidy, a Yelm High graduate who finished fourth in last year’s Pro-Am.

Other former champions entered include pros Ronnie Espedal, Keith Liedes, Kevin Bishop, Curt Zander and Mark Olson and amateur Don Scott.

Former Hoquiam High ace Nolan Sand, who is now on the golf team at the The Master’s College in California, will be making his Pro-Am debut.

With several scratch amateurs in the field, host pro Jay Gurrad estimated as many as 20 players have legitimate shots at the title.

Saturday’s pairings:

7:45 a.m.

1A — Brian Nosler, Sandy Nosler, Tandy Charley, Paul Martin. 1B — Brandon Peterson, Mike Malone, Jon McCaslin, Tom LaCasse. 2A — Don Mojean, Dave Achziger, Tom Uszynski, Dan Meldrich. 3A — Ronnie Espedal, Ed Klein, John Eilers, Tiger Hagen. 4A — Tom Staskus, Jim Maki, Kirk Figg, Jon Bergstrom. 5A — Tom Weber, Ron Scott, Red Ralls, Bruce Beck.

6A — Dave Jackson, Tom Christensen, Ryan Earl, Bum Kim. 7A — Brian Davis, Richard Pasalich, Tom Cosper, Eric Hagen. 8A — Rick Denholm, Chris Hansen, Phillip Blackburn, Ron Martinez. 9A — John Groshell, Bill Jackson, Tandy Alexander, Mike Hermsen.

1:15 p.m.

1A — Curt Zander, Mark Forbes, Steve Solan, Fritz Bramstedt. 1B — Jay Gurrad, Ron Russell, Jay Dotson, Dave Everett. 2A — Keith Liedes, Phil Stegemoeller, Jim Jacka, Larry Downey. 3A — Shane Prante, Aaron Hare, Ilias Murr, Bill Newman. 4A — Tony Robydek, Andy Hale, James Johnston, Mike Sand. 5A — Chris Griffin, Tom Hale, Doug Smith, Ray Wasson Jr.

6A — John Cassidy, Jeff Wright, Nelson Papp, Moe Garcia. 6B — Lance Satcher, Lanny Satcher, Nolan Sand, Steve Natwick. 7A — Mark Olson, Luke Olson, Dave Pimentel, Hans Stegemoeller. 8A — Travis Paul, Nigel Lett, Glen Pizzuto, Shaun Carson. 9A — Kevin Bishop, Don Scott, Jim Kiliz, John Stullick.