Area Class 1B basketball players honored

Wishkah’s Brady Anderson and Lake Quinault’s Romenita Begay received the Most Valuable Player awards on all-Class 1B independent basketball teams announced this week.

Anderson topped an all-independent boys team that included teammate Keigan Gardiner, Taholah’s Keanu Curleybear, Oakville’s Ray Lopez and Gary Ortivez and Lake Quinault’s Dylan Dorhofer.

Begay received MVP honors from a first girls team that also included teammate Mikaila Blackburn, Taholah’s Trish Charley and Nicole Hidalgo and Mary M. Knight’s Miranda Sowle and Jaycee Valley.

Oakville’s Cliff Harris and Knight’s Lance Valley, who guided their teams to district championships, were voted by their peers as 1B coaches of the year.

Wishkah’s girls and North River’s boys received sportsmanship awards.

One oddity was that North River’s Jaala Berentsen, who received second-team girls recognition, actually played on the Mustang boys team. North River did not field a girls team due to a lack of players and had some girls on the otherwise-male squad.

The all-star teams included players from Wishkah, Taholah, Lake Quinault, Oakville, Mary M. Knight and North River. Those schools operated as independents this season.

The 1B all-stars:


MVP — Brady Anderson, Wishkah, 6-3 Sr.

First Team

Ray Lopez, Oakville, 5-11 Jr.; Keanu Curleybear, Taholah, 5-10 Jr.; Keigan Gardiner, Wishkah, 5-11 Sr.; Gary Ortivez, Oakville, 5-8 Jr.; Dylan Dorhofer, Lake Quinault, 6-0 Sr.

Second Team

Marcus Youckton, Oakville, 5-6 Sr.; Jimmy Smith-Kramer, Taholah, 5-10 Jr.; Kobe Kalama, Lake Quinault, 5-9, Jr.; Trey Berge, Wishkah, 6-3 Sr.; Shawn Youckton, Oakville, 6-0 Sr.

Honorable Mention

Lake Quinault — Dylan Lines, Chayton Johnson. Wishkah — Gavin Baltzell, Chris Thein, Robert Rodriguez. Taholah — Wade Purdy, Robert Needham. Oakville — T.J. Trott, Geo Jack. North River — Christian Wilson, Gabe Turner. Mary M. Knight — Austin Thompson.


MVP — Romenita Begay, Lake Quinault, Jr.

First Team

Trish Charley, Taholah, 5-5 Jr.; Miranda Sowle, Mary M. Knight, 5-6 Jr.; Jaycee Valley, Mary M. Knight, 5-5 Soph.; Mikaila Blackburn, Lake Quinault, 5-5 Sr.; Nicole Hidalgo, Taholah, 6-0 Soph.

Second Team

Karleena Walther, Taholah, 5-5 Soph.; Brittany Maass, Oakville, 5-1 Jr.; Carlie Adsero, Mary M. Knight, 5-3 Sr.; Ashley Kiliz, Mary M. Knight, 5-3 Sr.; Jaala Berentsen, North River, 5-7 Sr.

Honorable Mention

Taholah — Leeza James, Rachel Cheney. Wishkah — Ryan Anderson, Payton West, Ally Ancich. Lake Quinault — Alex Blackburn, Hannah Allen. Mary M. Knight — Kayla Kiliz, Lauren Dierkop. Oakville — Natosha Lewis, Makayla Ortivez.


Rules for posting comments