Fish & Wildlife tentatively sets four razor clam digs for Twin Harbors beaches


For those with time to plan beyond the winter holidays, the Washington Department of Fish &Wildlife has tentatively scheduled a new series of evening razor clam digs through February.

Under that plan, various ocean beaches will be open for 13 days in January and five days in February if marine toxin tests show the clams are safe to eat.

Fish &Wildlife will announce final word on those digs about a week before they are scheduled to begin.

“We’re announcing these dates now so people can start making plans for the new year,” said Dan Ayres, Fish &Wildlife coastal shellfish manager. “We’ve had a terrific season so far, and expect plenty of great digging in the months ahead.”

Ayres noted that a dig now proposed to start New Year’s Day would effectively add five additional days to a dig previously planned during the last three days in December.

As in recent months, all digs are scheduled on evening tides. No digging will be allowed on any beach before noon.

Upcoming digs are scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

• Dec. 29, Sunday, 4:05 p.m.; -0.2 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks, Copalis

• Dec. 30, Monday, 4:55 p.m.; -0.9 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks, Copalis

• Dec. 31, Tuesday, 5:42 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks,Copalis,

• Jan. 1, Wednesday, 6:29 p.m.; -1.7 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Jan. 2, Thursday, 7:15 p.m.; -1.7 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Jan. 3, Friday, 8:00 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Jan. 4, Saturday, 8:45 p.m.; -0.9 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks, Copalis

• Jan. 5, Sunday, 9:31 p.m.; -0.2 feet; Twin Harbors

• Jan. 15, Wednesday, 6:19 p.m.; -0.1 feet; Twin Harbors

• Jan. 16, Thursday, 6:51 p.m.; -0.1 feet; Twin Harbors

• Jan. 17, Friday, 7:22 p.m.; 0.0 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Jan. 18, Saturday, 7:53 p.m.; 0.2 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Jan. 28, Tuesday, 4:36 p.m.; -0.7 feet; Twin Harbors

• Jan. 29, Wednesday, 5:25 p.m.; -1.2 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach

• Jan. 30, Thursday, 6:11 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Jan. 31, Friday, 6:55 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Feb. 1, Saturday, 7:38 p.m.; -1.0 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks, Copalis

• Feb. 2, Sunday, 8:20 p.m.; -0.5 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Feb. 26, Wednesday, 4:15 p.m.; -0.4 feet; Twin Harbors

• Feb. 27, Thursday, 5:04 p.m.; -0.7 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

• Feb. 28, Friday, 5:49 p.m.; -0.8 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

Under state law, diggers can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig. Each digger’s clams must be kept in a separate container.

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2013-14 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on the department’s website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

For updates on scheduled openings, see the Fish &Wildlife Razor Clam webpage at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/current.html.

 

Rules for posting comments