Harborites dominated all-Evergreen League soccer team

Grays Harbor players swept the major awards on the all-Evergreen 1A League boys soccer team announced this week.

Hoquiam senior midfielder Osiel Rivera received the league’s Player of the Year award. Elma’s Edgar Hermenegildo and Konan Katzer were selected as the Offensive and Defensive Most Valuable Player honors, respectively.

Montesano junior Jeff Varness took the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Fidel Sanchez, who guided Hoquiam to its first-ever district boys soccer championship, was voted by his peers as the league’s Coach of the Year. The Grizzlies and Montesano shared the team Sportsmanship Award.

Hoquiam’s Alex PugaDeLaRosa, Brenner Carlstrom, Pedro Weber-Cruz and Tahj Malone, Elma’s Julian Hernandez and Steven Persell and Montesano’s Brandon Lovell, David Sawyer and Nolan Walker earned first-team recognition.

The Evergreen 1A all-stars:


Player of the Year: Osiel Rivera, Hoquiam, Sr.

Offensive MVP: Edgar Hermenegildo, Elma, Sr.

Defensive MVP: Konan Katzer, Elma, Jr.

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jeff Varness, Montesano, Jr.


Brandon Lovell, Montesano, Jr.; David Sawyer, Montesano, Sr.; Angel Vasquez, Rochester, Sr.


Julian Hernandez, Elma, Sr.; Steven Persell, Elma, Jr.; Alex PugaDeLaRosa, Hoquiam, Soph.; Mat Ramos, Tenino, Sr.; Nolan Walker, Montesano, Jr.


Brenner Carlstrom, Hoquiam, Sr.; Codie Hix, Tenino, Jr.; Pedro Weber-Cruz, Hoquiam, Soph.


Tahj Malone, Hoquiam, Soph.



Donovan Bieker, Elma, Soph.; Mario Fernandez, Hoquiam, Sr.; Kylar Prante, Montesano, Soph.


Angel Mazariegos, Hoquiam, Sr.; Nick Prosch, Montesano, Jr.; Nicholas Taylor, Rochester, Jr.


Tyler Davis, Elma, Sr.


Rules for posting comments