Harborites haul in their share of subdistrict wrestling titles

The threat of snow forced Evergreen 1A officials to turn its subdistrict wrestling tournament from a two-day stretch into a 6 1/2-hour high-speed burn on Friday night at the Hoquiam Square Garden.

Forks, the league dual meet champion, proved its tournament vitality by rolling past the field en route to the subdistrict team title.

Overall, Grays Harbor teams came away with nine subdistrict individual championships and plenty of teammates to join them in next week’s Region I tournament in Blaine.

Due to deadline constraints, full summaries of the tournament, including final totals of wrestlers advancing to regionals, will be published online at www.thedailyworld.com.

Montesano led the Harbor teams with six championship finalists. Elma sent five to the finals, while host Hoquiam had four in the finals.

Monte’s Jacob Ellefson, at 113 pounds, was the first Harbor subdistrict champion, dominating his match against Forks’ Alvaro Ortiz. Ellefson took Ortiz to his back early in the second round and finish with a pin at 2:38.

At 132, Austin Cain added to the Bulldogs’ run when he outfought Nanito Sanchez, of Forks, 5-0, in the finals. Kylar Prante, at 160, picked up an injury default win over Hoquiam’s Tahj Malone. Anthony Louthan, at 170, was the fourth Monte champion and he had the easiest time of it, dominating Forks’ Nate Gimlin by majority decision, 17-5.

Tyler Izatt started Montesano’s finals run at 106, but fell to Forks’ Sebastian Morales, 13-5. Taylor Rupe finished Monte’s night with a tough 6-2 loss to Tenino’s Dom Nakano in the 195 final.

Tanner Sample, a third-place finisher at the Mat Classic last year, gave Elma its first subdistrict title of the night when he cruised past Bobby Brien, of Rochester, 8-2, in the 126 final.

At 145, Elma’s Tyson Dick was in complete control of Forks’ Javier Contreras and finished with a majority decision win, 16-4. Dick fought off the flu all night and delayed the finish to his match when he had a “reversal of fortune” that required extensive cleanup to the mat.

Brek McGaughy picked up an injury default win over Rochester’s Matt Shields in the 195 final and Austin Cristelli injury defaulted to Rochester’s Lucas Eastman in the 152 final.

Hoquiam’s Jesse Velez gave the hosts their first tournament title when he pinned Elma’s Jayden Olson at 2:57 in the 120 final. Kenny Huffman added another tourney title when he dominated Forks’ Gavin Castandeda, 11-3, in the 182 final.

Tristan Stutesman and Forks’ Ricky Barragan engaged in the tightest final of the night at 138. After two periods, the match was tied at 2-2 — all on escapes. In the third, Barragan was in the down position and came away with a move that forced Stutesman to let him go for an escape with 35 seconds left in the match.

Stutesman tried four times to take Barragan down, but the Spartan got out of bounds to negate the moves to run out the clock.

In the only non-Harbor matchup of the fiwnals, Forks’ Miguel Morales picked up an injury default win over teammate Jake Claussen to end the tournament.


Rules for posting comments