Briefs for Nov. 30, 2013

Johnson named Bobcat MVP

Aberdeen senior lineman Chase Johnson received the George Savage Most Valuable Player Award at the Aberdeen High School football awards dinner recently

Johnson was also honored as the Bobcats’ top lineman.

Other awards: Most Improved — Deon Schlesser. Perry Clark Academic — Jordon Logan. Al Eklund Coaches Award — Erikk Machowek. John Mashin Award — Cory Mays. Adin Marshall Leadership — Lorenzo Ontiveros. Inspirational — Lorenzo Ontiveros. Special Teams — Austin Floch. Practice Team Player of Year — Cody Johnson. Booster of Year — Tina Logan. Volunteer of Year — Craig Dublanko.

Arizona wins Preseason NIT

Nick Johnson scored 13 of his 15 points in the second half to lead fourth-ranked Arizona to a 72-66 victory over No. 6 Duke and claim the NIT Season Tip-Off championship in New York.

The Wildcats (7-0) trailed 43-37 with under 14 minutes left before outscoring the Blue Devils by a 26-10 margin en route to their fourth all-time title at the prestigious early-season event.

Brandon Ashley added 13 points for Arizona and Kaleb Tarczweski, Aaron Gordon and T.J. McConnell all had 10 in a balanced offensive effort. The Wildcats’ defense turned out to be the difference in this heavyweight matchup, however, limiting Duke (6-2) to a 34.5 field goal percentage over the final 20 minutes.

Heralded freshman Jabari Parker netted 19 points for the Blue Devils, but 11 of them came prior to halftime.


Rules for posting comments