Montesano wins North Beach’s Bash At The Beach wrestling tournament

OYEHUT — A large, stacked field of wrestlers from throughout Western Washington descended on North Beach High School’s House of Pain for Saturday’s Bash At The Beach and Montesano stood tall at the end.

Bringing a young group of wrestlers eager for tournament experience, the Bulldogs finished with five individual champions and ran away from Evergreen 1A rival Hoquiam for the team title with 196 1/2 points.

The Grizzlies, tempered by the injury of a teammate at the start of the third-fourth place matches, brought home four individual titleists and 177 points. Willapa Harbor showcased a bigger team to finish third at 150 points and Ocosta took fourth at 136 points.

“We came out and set goals to advancing through a tournament; advancement was the name of the game today,” Montesano head coach Jeff Klinger said. “That’s what we talked about this week. I thought we wrestled really well. We moved kids around to see kids in matches and we saw some really tough matches. I’m looking forward to seeing how they’ll build upon those matches.”

All but one championship final match featured at least one Twin Harbors wrestler, with several of them with two. Montesano had seven championship finalists in the mix, tops out of the 12 teams at the tournament.

Tyler Izatt, at 113 pounds, started the Bulldog title run with a second-round pin of Willapa Harbor’s Brandon Johnson, at 3:33, for the victory. Jacob Ellefson, at 120, followed Izatt with the closest win of the tournament, a 7-5 overtime victory over Ocosta’s Connor Maben.

Ellefson needed a takedown with 33 seconds left in the third period to secure a 5-5 tie in regulation. In the first overtime period, the Bulldog scored the takedown for the win.

At 160, Kylar Prante gave Monte its third individual title when he used a big second-period run of reversals and near-falls for a 12-5 win over Ocosta’s Brian Hart. At 170, Ben O’Brien methodically kept Willapa Harbor’s Shiloh Borden from scoring for a 4-1 victory.

At 195, Taylor Rupe capped the Bulldogs’ day by taking what he could get in a 2-0 victory over Knappa, Ore’s Nate Truax.

For Hoquiam, its four titleists went on a consecutive run to gain their wins, starting with Jesse Velez at 126. Velez quickly turned over Rainier’s Austin Hopper for the win by pin at 1:02.

David Molitor followed with a win by pin over Knappa’s Ryan Simpson at 1:26 in the 132 final. Tristan Stutesman made it three in a row by pinning Adna’s Nolan Balzer at 3:50 in the second period of the 138 final.

The final win for Hoquiam was unexpected at 145. The Grizzlies’ Angel Mazariegos, who was wrestling as a non-point junior varsity entry, took on Montesano’s Matthew Overbey and got the best of him.

After a rolling start where Mazariegos got the takedown, two 3-point near-falls in between a reversal, for a 10-2 lead. The senior kept Overbey down in the second period before a 3-point near-fall in the third period secured a 13-2 majority decision.

“That was my biggest surprise,” HHS head coach Fidel Sanchez said. “He was my surprise guy. He lost a challenge match earlier in the week, then went out today and won it. He’s been struggling as of late and this is a big confidence booster.

“Our guys know how to battle through the back door and the majority of our guys got third place,” Sanchez added. “They battled and it was good to see the kids willing to fight to the end.”

In the first third-fourth place match of the day at 103, Hoquiam’s Alex Padilla was taken down by Ocosta’s Kobe Christian and landed on the back of his head and shoulder. Ocean Shores paramedics put Padilla onto a backboard and he was transported to Grays Harbor General Hospital.

Sanchez noted later Padilla was transferred to Tacoma General and was being treated for a possible concussion.

Willapa Harbor had six championship finalists and finished with two titleists on the day, one of them was the Harbor’s reigning Class B state champion, Hunter Borden at 182. Borden took on Montesano’s Anthony Louthan, who finished last year’s state tournament fourth in the Class 1A 170 division, in the final.

Borden never allowed Louthan to gain an edge in a tightly fought 6-0 decision. Matthew Boyes picked up Willapa Harbor’s second title when he won by default in the 220 final over teammate James Hamilton.

Ocosta had four championship finalists and one title, Cole Rutzer pinned teammate Kaleb Orton at 3:30 in the 106 final.

At 285, the hosts got one title to keep home as North Beach’s Daniel Fruh outpointed Willapa Harbor’s George Crow, 8-5.

2014 North Beach Bash At The Beach

Team: Montesano 196 1/2, Hoquiam 177, Willapa Harbor 150, Ocosta 136, Knappa (Ore.) 112, Shelton 86 1/2, Rainier 82 1/2, Quillayute 49, Chief Leschi 42, North Beach 37, Adna 33, Muckleshoot 0.

106 — 1. Cole Rutzer (Oco) pinned Kaleb Orton (Oco), 3:30. 3. Alex Padilla (Hoq) inj. def. over Kobe Christian (Oco). 113 — Tyler Izatt (Monte) pinned Brandon Johnson (WH), 3:33. 3. Sam Quinby (Oco) dec. Elliot Foss (Hoq), 10-7. 120 — 1. Jacob Ellefson (Monte) dec. Connor Maben (Oco), 7-5 (OT). 3. Joseph Lewis (WH) dec. Israel Elwell (Rain), 14-8. 126 — 1. Jesse Velez (Hoq) pinned Auston Hopper (Rain), 1:02. 3. Auston Vinson (Monte) dec. Matthew Lewis (WH), 2-1. 132 — 1. Davis Molitor (Hoq) pinned Ryan Simpson (Kna), 1:26.3. Austin Cain (Monte) tech. fall over Tyler Wentworth, 16-0. 138 — 1. Tristan Stutesman (Hoq) pinned Nolan Balzer (Adna), 3:50. 3 (tie). Brayden Lasher (Rain) and Chase Salisbury (Shel). 145 — 1. Angel Mazariegos (Hoq) maj. dec. over Matthew Overbey (Monte), 13-2. 3. Alec Manke (Shel) dec. Artimus Johnson (Hoq), 3-1 (OT). 152 — 1. Gable Lacy (Shel) pinned Justin Hatch (Quil), 3:47. 3. Chin’wa August (CL) pinned Austin Gragoo (Kna), 2:02.

160 — 1. Kylar Prante (Monte) dec. Brian Hart (Oco), 12-5. 3. Tahj Malone (Hoq) maj. dec. Chris Whitworth (Kna), 12-1. 170 — 1. Ben O’Brien (Monte) dec. Shiloh Borden (WH), 4-1. 3. Alex Valliere (Hoq) pinned Logan Patterson (Kna), :59. 182 — 1. Hunter Borden (WH) dec. Anthony Louthan (Monte), 4-0. 3. Kenny Huffman (Hoq) pinned Zachary Ford (Kna), 2:33. 195 — 1. Taylor Rupe (Monte) dec. Nate Truax (Kna), 2-0. 3. Gary Aube (Hoq) pinned Aaron DeLaTorre (Rain), 2:30. 220 — 1. Matthew Boyes (WH) won by default over James Hamilton (WH). 3. Jonny Law (Quil) pinned D. Earl-Lovejoy (CL), :28. 285 — 1. Daniel Fruh (NB) dec. George Crow (WH), 8-5. 3. Daniel Helman (Oco) dec. Sam Grover (WH), 6-1.


Rules for posting comments