Parshall notches third straight win at midseason championships

ELMA — Hoquiam driver Jack Parshall recorded his third street stock win of the season during the midseason championships on Saturday at Grays Harbor Raceway.

Chase Goetz of Snohomish, Evan Margeson of Tacoma, Craig Moore of Seabeck and Jeff Daniel of Ocean Shores captured the other feature races.

The program also featured a post-race fireworks show.

Starting on the pole in the 25-lap feature, Parshall also gained the advantage on two restarts in the accident-marred street stock feature.

The primary battle, for second place, was eventually taken by Aberdeen’s Autin Kerrigan. Brenton Schnitzer of Renton placed third, while Don Briggs Jr. and Mike Knox rounded out the top five. Knox rallied after starting at the rear of the 21-car field.

Six-car scrambles, composed of the top six in each class, replaced heat races in the program. Parshall also prevailed in the street stock scramble, while Tom Hecker of Spanaway recorded the fastest time.

Goetz went wire-to-wire to take the checkered flag in the midget series division.

A caution flag on the 12th lap bunched the field and allowed Dougie James of Shoreline to briefly challenge for the lead. James’ car bobbled, however, on turn two, causing him to briefly surrender second place and enable Goetz to pull away.

James regained second, followed by Garrett Thomas of McCleary, Chance Crum of Snohomish and Jeremy Miller of Montesano.

Goetz won the scramble and Thomas had the fastest time.

Margeson similarly led the entire distance in the 360 sprint car class. Following a restart on the 15th lap, the Tacoma driver increased his lead to a full straightaway.

A caution, resulting from Daniel McGrew spinning to a stop on turn four on the 24th lap, forced a green-white-checkered restart. Margeson quickly pulled away from his rivals on the restart and notched his first victory of the season. Elma driver Jason Reed was second, with Dan Dunlap of Renton, Michael Hodel of Lynnwood and Sean Johnson of Tulalip rounding out the top five.

Margeson also won the scramble. McGrew recorded the fastest time.

Edged by his son, Kyler, in the last previous modified feature at Elma, Craig Moore gained revenge of sorts with his second main event victory of the season.

Although starting on the pole, the veteran Seabeck driver withstood several challenges from Bubba Foster of Dayton, Ore., midway through the 25-lap feature.

Foster’s car, however, came to a stop on the 12th lap due to mechanical issues. Moore had clear sailing for the remainder of the caution-laden main. Scott Miller of Shelton finished second, Kyler Moore third, Kris Asche of Shelton fourth and McCleary’s Josh Muller fifth.

Craig Moore was also the scramble winner.

Daniel slipped past Tenino driver Chad Norton on the fourth lap and led the rest of the way in the Outlaw Tuners main event. Norton hung on for second, followed by Shane Turner, Ryan Onasch and Brittany Diggle.

The race opened with a spectacular accident, as Willie Wright of Aberdeen had his car flip twice before coming to rest on all four wheels after colliding with another vehicle. Wright, who walked away from the crash, escaped serious injury.

Norton was the scramble winner.

The Summer Thunder sprint series will make its second stop at Grays Harbor Raceway for the 360 nationals this weekend.

Racing is scheduled for Friday and Saturday, with the program beginning at 7 o’clock both nights. Street stock racing is also planned.


Rules for posting comments