Sports Briefs for Thursday, June 19

Browning wins Grays Harbor Amateur

Alan Browning of the Centralia area successfully defended his championship in the Grays Harbor Men’s Amateur golf tournament that concluded Sunday at Grays Harbor Country Club.

Browning finished with a 36-hole total of one-under-par 139. Scotty Crouthamel, an Elma High School graduate who is now the senior director of rules and competition for the Pacific Northwest Golf Association was second at 140. Hoquiam’s John Sand, the newly crowned state Class 1A boys high school champion, placed third at 141.

Ron Scott of the host club took net honors with a 125. The final standings:

Gross: Alan Browning 139, Scotty Crouthamel 140, John Sand 141, Jeff Wright 144, Jim Everham 149.

Net: Ron Scott 125, Steve Solan 133, Steve Natwick 134, Matt Tanselli 134, Les Topp 134.

KP: Les Topp, Tom Cosper, Scotty Crouthamel.

Montesano volleyball camp billed

Registration is being accepted for the Montesano Volleyball Camp, scheduled June 30-July 3 at Montesano High School’s Bo Griffith Memorial Gym.

The camp is open to incoming fifth-graders through high school seniors. Instruction for fifth through eighth-graders is planned from 9 to 11:30 a.m. daily. The camp for high school students is scheduled from 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Montesano High School coach Debbie Gibson will direct the camp, assisted by other Bulldog coaches and former players.

The registration fee of $30 includes a T-shirt. Registration will be accepted on the opening day of camp, but only those who pre-register by June 25 will be guaranteed a T-shirt.

Registration forms may be mailed to Gibson, 315 Sunset Drive, Hoquiam, 98550, or hand-delivered to Bulldog assistants Cindy Wecker or Megan Schmitz. Further information may be obtained by contacting Gibson at 537-5910.

North Beach tracksters honored

Carson Ketter and Quay Sotomish received the Most Valuable Running awards and Caleb Bridge and Olivia Fruh the Most Valuable Field honors at the North Beach High School track awards dinner recently.

Other team awards: Inspirational — Carson Ketter, Jenna Vogler. Most Improved — Tim Poplin, Caitlin Oberg. Coaches Award — Chris Horn, Ashley Krusemark. Captains — Quay Sotomish, Kasey Hearn, Caleb Bridge, Steven Fry.

Daily World staff reports


Rules for posting comments