Sports Briefs for Thursday, March 13

Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame banquet Saturday

Six members of the Class of 2014 will be honored this Saturday at the Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame banquet at the Elma Eagles.

At 6 p.m., a social hour and silent auction will take place, with the induction ceremony starting at 7 p.m. Admission is free, but there is a $5 fee for silent auction numbers.

The new members of the hall of fame span more than four decades of racing in Elma — Bob Carter, George Richert, Dale Way, Don Spoon III, Ron Larson and Dirk Stephens.

The Larry Spoon Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Hoquiam’s Herman Burns. The Fred Brownfield Exemplary Contribution Award will be presented at the time of the event.

Dallas Seavey wins Iditarod

Dallas Seavey ran a blistering closing pace to rally from third place and win his second Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race early Tuesday in a record-breaking finish.

Seavey finished the race in eight days, 13 hours, 4 minutes and 19 seconds, easily breaking the record set in 2011.

Fisher, Dixon share AHS MVP award

Seniors Emily Fisher and Kiana Dixon shared the Most Valuable Player award at the Aberdeen High School girls basketball awards dinner recently.

Other team awards: 100 Percent Blue and Gold (Hustle Award): Alexxi Timmons. Most Improved: Tiana Blackburn. Coaches Award: Erin Kuhn. Four-year varsity letter winners: Alexxi Timmons, Emily Fisher and Kiana Dixon.

Valley winter sports dessert planned

Willapa Valley High School’s winter sports dessert is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. Tuesday at the high school commons. Viking basketball players and wrestlers will be honored.

Oaksridge Men’s Club tourney set

The Oaksridge Golf Course Men’s Club has scheduled a four-man best ball tournament for 9 a.m. Saturday.

Prospective new members are also encouraged to participate. Further information may be obtained be phoning the Oaksridge pro shop, 482-3511.

Daily World staff reports


Rules for posting comments