Twin Harbor wrestlers begin postseason tourneys this weekend

Twin Harbors wrestlers will take their first postseason steps toward Mat Classic XXVI in subregional tournaments this weekend.

Three of the four tourneys involving Twin Harbors wrestlers are scheduled for Grays Harbor venues.

The Evergreen 1A League subregional boys tournament and the subregional girls tourneys are slated for Hoquiam Square Garden.

The boys tourney will begin at 6 p.m. Friday. Two championship rounds and a pair of consolation rounds will be contested Friday night, with the survivors resuming action at 11 a.m. Saturday.

The championship matches are planned for approximately 5:30 p.m. Saturday. The top four finishers will advance to regionals Feb. 15 at Blaine.

Subregional seedings were being made Wednesday night and were not immediately available.

The subregional girls tourney will be a one-day affair at Hoquiam, beginning at 9 a.m. Saturday. The title round in that event is also planned for approximately 5:30 p.m.

The top four girls at each weight advance to regionals Feb. 15, also at Hoquiam.

Class 2A

Aberdeen’s wrestlers will venture to Tumwater for the 2A subregionals Friday and Saturday.

Three rounds of this tourney will be wrestled Friday, beginning at with action resuming at 11 a.m. Saturday. The title round is planned for no earlier than 2 p.m. The top four at each weight qualify for regionals Feb. 15 at Steilacoom.

Aberdeen’s Erikk Machowek, at 138 pounds, and Jordon Logan, at 285, are top-seeded at their respective weights. Other Bobcats seeded in the top four:

120 — Austin Pierce, fourth. 132 — Grant Bowley, second. 145 — Tristen Jimenez, second. 152 — Kolby Shelton, second. 170 — Tavo Sanchez, second. 195 — Ben Tupper, fourth.

Class 2B/1B

Ocosta High School will again be the site for the Class B subregional tournament Saturday. The one-day tourney begins at 10:30 a.m., with the finals planned for no earlier than 3 p.m.

The top at each weight advance to regionals Feb. 15 at Darrington. Subregional seedings:

106 — 1. Sam Quinby (Ocosta). 2. Kaleb Orton (Ocosta). 113 — 1. Brandon Johnson (Raymond). 2. Kobe Christian (Ocosta). 120 — 1. Connor Maben (Ocosta). 2. Joseph Lewis (South Bend). 3. Ian Bowen (Napavine). 4. Joe Day (Winlock). 126 — 1. Luke Stacey (Wahkiakum). 2. Matthew Lewis (South Bend). 3. Matthew Hart (Ocosta). 4. Nick Betrozoff (Willapa Valley). 132 — 1. Tony Raupp (Winlock). 2. Cosmo Silver (Ocosta). 3. Sean Hollinger (Napavine). 138 — 1. Alex Johnson (Wahkiakum). 2. Nolan Balzer (Adna). 3. Edgar Aragon (Ocosta). 4. Noah Elder (Ocosta). 145 — 1. Mason Mackey (Wahkiakum). 2. Bryce Hongell (Ocosta). 3. Ty McFadden (Napavine). 4. Arin Engle (Adan).

152 — 1. Tanner Fields (Adna). 2. Joseph Martin (South Bend). 3. Tyler Roper (North Beach). 4. Kalvyn Scott (Ocosta). 160 — Brian Hart (Ocosta). 2. Grant Camenzind (Raymond). 3. Garret Morgan (Adna). 170 — 1. Shiloh Borden (Raymond). 2. Anthony Fisher (Adna). 3. Byron Hongell (Ocosta). 4. Cameron Keller (North Beach). 182 — 1. Hunter Borden (Raymond). 2. Trystan Mendez (Wahkiakum). 3. Joe Hickey (Napavine). 4. Neal Riley (Raymond). 195: 1. Matthew Boyes (Raymond). 2. Lucas Macomber (Napavine). 3. Joseph Orkney (Raymond). 4. David Cunningham (Ocosta). 220: 1. James Hamilton (Raymond). 2. George Crow (Raymond). 3. Alex Horn (North Beach). 285: 1. Daniel Fruh (North Beach). 2. Daniel Helman (Ocosta). 3. Sam Grover (South Bend). 4. Marcos Perales (South Bend).


Rules for posting comments