Twin Harborites fare well at Kalama Rubber Chicken tournament

KALAMA — Montesano’s young wrestling team continues to bring home hardware and victories and Saturday’s second-place performance at the Kalama Rubber Chicken tournament was no exception.

The Bulldogs landed six championship finalists and five of them won titles — including a Montesano vs. Montesano matchup at 170 pounds — to finish second behind Castle Rock in the team standings.

Elma, with two champions and three finalists overall, took fourth as a team, with Hoquiam sixth and Ocosta seventh.

Montesano’s Jacob Ellefson, who easily won the 113-pound division, was named best wrestler of the tournament in the lower weight divisions. Rochester’s Lucas Eastman won the best wrestler honor in the higher weights.

“This was a step up in competition and it was good for everyone,” Montesano head coach Jeff Klinger said. “The kids really stepped up and wrestled hard. We had the most champions in the tournament, but didn’t have the strength of depth like Castle Rock did. All five champs wrestled well to get there. Overall, it was a great team effort.”

Ellefson was joined at the top of the podium with teammates Tyler Izatt (106), Kylar Prante (160), Ben O’Brien (170) and Taylor Rupe (195) in championships. O’Brien won by default over teammate Anthony Louthan in the 170 final.

Elma came into the tournament with three key wrestlers getting the weekend off — Steven Persell, Cory Marsh and Austin Cristelli. With a younger set of wrestlers, Elma head coach Jason Dick was pleased with the overall performance.

Tanner Sample (132) and Brek McGaughy (220) were the individual winners for the Eagles, with teammate Austin Carrell taking second after a 3-2 loss to Rupe in the 195 final.

“It is starting to click for our guys,” Dick said. “The kids worked hard this week. Brek wrestled a solid tournament. Tanner wrestled very physical, like he does, and I was really happy with Mario Yanez (third at 113). He is a freshman who came out late and took third in his third tournament of the year.”

Dick also cited Jonathan Weiler and Jacob Nelson for their performances.

Hoquiam landed two championship finalists, but no individual titles. Tristan Stutesman (138) and Tahj Malone (160) took second place in their weight divisions.

HHS assistant coach Steve Ensslin noted the team’s improvement and cited both Malone and Stutesman for their performances.

For Ocosta, Connor Maben was the lone championship finalist and he grabbed the 120-pound title in the process.

Castle Rock 232 1/2, Montesano 181, Kalama 153 1/2, Elma 144, Mount Vernon 122 1/2, Hoquiam 120, Ocosta 83 1/2, Rochester, Wahkiakum, Toledo/Winlock, Kelso, Tacoma Baptist.

106 — 1. Tyler Izatt (Monte) pinned Kaleb Carroll (CR), 1:41. 3. Kaleb Orton (Oco). 113 — 1. Jacob Ellefson (Monte) maj. dec. Kaleb Nelson (CR), 10-0. 3. Mario Yanez (Elma) and Elliott Foss (Hoq). 5. Sam Quinby (Oco). 120 — 1. Connor Maben (Oco) dec. Alex Langdon (CR), 7-3. 126 — 3. Jesse Velez (Hoq). 5. Jayden Olson (Elma). 132 — 1. Tanner Sample (Elma) maj. dec. Jacob Posey (Kala), 11-0. 3. David Molitor (Hoq) and Austin Cain (Monte). 138 — 1. Alex Johnson (Wahk) pinned Tristan Stutesman (Hoq), 3:45. 3. Jacob Nelson (Elma). 145 — 3. Tyson Dick (Elma). 5. Mathew Overbey (Monte).

152 — 5. Narius Registad (Elma). 160 — 1. Kylar Prante (Monte) maj. dec. Tahj Malone (Hoq), 12-3. 3. Bryan Hart (Oco). 170 — 1. Ben O’Brien (Monte) by default over Anthony Louthan (Monte). 3. Alex Valliere (Hoq). 5. Byron Hongell (Oco). 182 — 5. Jonathan Weiler (Elma) and Kenny Huffman (Hoq). 195 — 1. Taylor Rupe (Monte) dec. Austin Carrell (Elma), 3-2. 220 — 1. Brek McGaughy (Elma) pinned Dalton Yoder (T-W), 5:37. 285 — 3. Daniel Helman (Oco).


Rules for posting comments