Wrestling Roundup: Willapa Harbor wins its own invitational

Willapa Harbor Invitational

RAYMOND — Host Willapa Harbor landed nine wrestlers in the finals and came away with six championships to lay claim to its own tournament, the Willapa Harbor Invitational, on Saturday.

Willapa Harbor, a combine of Raymond, South Bend and Willapa Valley wrestlers, won the meet with 160 1/2 points. Elma, with a mixture of varsity and JV wrestlers, took second. North Beach and Montesano, which also followed Elma’s lead in its lineup, also competed in the tournament.

“(The team) was a little thinner with some sickness and match counts, but there were a lot of good performances,” Willapa Harbor assistant coach John Enslow said. “A lot of our guys stepped up and look ready for the postseason.”

Reigning Class 2B 182-pound state champion Hunter Borden won his weight division easily and was voted the tournament’s Outstanding Wrestler by the meet coaches. Tumwater’s junior varsity team, which took fifth place, won the inaugural Don Weisel Commemorative Award for team sportsmanship.

Borden was joined at the top of the podium by Brandon Johnson (113), Joseph Lewis (120), Matthew Lewis (126), Shiloh Borden (170) and James Hamilton (220) with championships.

Elma snagged two champions — Cory Marsh (152) and Steven Persell (160) — and four finalists overall on the day. Elma assistant coach Russell Luellen was pleased with the team’s performance.

“This is a good tuneup tournament for the next couple of weeks and gets them ready for the league meet,” Luellen said. “It got some kids who really needed mat time.”

Luellen cited Persell for his day on the mat, as well as first-year wrestler Jonathan Weiller and freshman Matt Hichiner for their efforts.

Team: Willapa Harbor 160 1/2, Elma 120 1/2, Tenino 95 1/2, Tacoma Baptist 93, Tumwater JV 83 1/2, Adna 61 1/2, North Beach 44, Chief Leschi 35, Montesano 30 1/2, Quillette 19 1/2, Muckelshoot 7.

106 — 1. Matthew Anfeldt (T) tech fall Grant Graham (T), 20-5. 113 — 1. Brandon Johnson (WH) dec. Mario Yanez (E), 11-4. 120 — 1. Joseph Lewis (WH) pinned Colestron Chambers (Ten), :50. 3. Rachelle Jackson (WH). 126 — 1. Matthew Lewis (WH) dec. Ricardo Romero (E), 9-3. 3. Jaden Olson (E) dec. Jake Miller (TB), 12-6. 132 — 1. Davis Stone (TB) pinned Tristan Wallerstadt (T), 1:32. 3. Matt Hichiner (E) pinned Gavin Mounds (T), 1:13. 138 — 1. Nolan Balzer (A) tech fall Sam Aown (TB), 16-1. 3. Isaac Haynes (Monte) dec. Zach Jones (T), 12-5. 145 — 1. Zeb Chamberlin (Ten) pinned Sam Stone (TB), 1:25. 3. Preston Ring (T) pinned Aaron Angle (A), 1:25.

152 — 1. Cory Marsh (E) default over Anthony Anfeld (T). 3. Elijah Kozaravich (TB) pinned Bryson Moses (NB), 2:30. 160 — 1. Steven Persell (E) maj. dec. Kaleb Strawn (Ten), 10-2. 3. Tanner Fields (A) pinned David Butterfly (CL), 1:45. 170 — 1. Shiloh Borden (WH) dec. Ben O’Brien (Monte), 8-1. 3. Jarid Barrett (T) maj. dec. Anthony Fisher (A), 11-1. 182 — 1. Hunter Borden (WH) tech fall over Jason Haury (T), 17-1. 3. Jonathan Weiller (E) pinned Ezekiel Kozaravich (TB), 5:54. 195 — 1. Dom Nakano (Ten) dec. Matthew Boyes (WH), 7-2. 3. Austin Carrell (E) pinned Harry Gao (TB), 2:29. 220 — 1. James Hamilton (WH) pinned George Crow (WH), 4:37. 3. Jonny Law (Quil) pinned Riley Noonan (Ten), 1:01. 285 — 1. Daniel Fruh (NB) pinned Sam Grover (WH), 1:13. 3. Emelios Dumais (CL) pinned Marco Perales (WH), 1:51.

R.A. Long Lumberjack Classic

LONGVIEW — Aberdeen senior Jordon Logan pinned down his team’s lone championship as the Bobcats finished fifth overall at the R.A. Long Lumberjack Classic on Saturday.

Logan, seeded first in the 285-pound division, defeated R.A. Long’s Steve Smith, 9-5, in the championship match.

Aberdeen had two other championship finalists as well — Erikk Machowek at 138 and Tavo Sanchez at 170 — and one third-place wrestler, Erick Juarez at 126.

“Some wrestled very well and others didn’t,” AHS head coach Chuck Veloni said. “Erikk and Tavo came out of tough brackets with state veterans in both. They performed well. Jordon dominated. Steve Smith is a good wrestler and Jordon just controlled him, ran him into the ground.”

On Wednesday, Aberdeen hosts Capital.

Hoquiam at Lakes Invitational

LAKEWOOD — Hoquiam sent both its boys and girls teams to the Lakes Invitational and came away with one championship each on Saturday.

The girls squad took third overall as a team, with Lakes winning its own tournament. Four HHS wrestlers placed in the tournament, starting with Shianna Anderson winning the 106-pound division.

Mariah Nelle (100), Jenna Doll (145) and Karisa Selin (265) took third for Hoquiam.

“It was a good day; we brought eight, but five wrestlers were able to score on the board to get us to third (overall),” AHS girls head coach Alex White said.

For the boys, they finished fourth as a team with one championship — Jacob Gwinn in the 132-pound B division. Five wrestlers placed in the top-four on the day.

David Molitor lost to Lakes’ Andrew Ramirez in the 132-pound final and Tristan Stutesman lost to Lakes’ Trevon Robins in the 138 final by pin at 3:47. Kenny Huffman (170) and Gary Aube (195) finished third.

“It was nice to see higher competition, 3A and 4A schools,” HHS boys head coach Fidel Sanchez said. “To come out fourth, that’s pretty good. Every weekend, these guys are getting better, always competing.”

On Thursday, both teams will hold Senior Day festivities as the girls take on Forks and Rochester in matches prior to the boys’ Hoquiam-Forks dual meet.


Rules for posting comments